Toastmasters – My Prospective

I have used some of the text that was Toastmaster speeches in some posts on this blog but some of you may be wondering ‘ What the hell is Toastmasters!? Is it something where people make toasts!? ‘ That is what I thought myself when I first heard about it when I was 20! More seriously, though. Toastmasters is according to the official website;

Toastmasters International is a non-profit educational organization that teaches public speaking and leadership skills through a worldwide network of meeting locations.

So the general gist is that Toastmasters is about making people better public speakers and leaders. What motivated me to join? Well, the big reason for me was to help me come out of my shell as I believed that by doing this would have a knock on effect in other areas of my life. That and given the current economic climate, I needed something to keep me sane while I save my for upcoming travel adventures!

I have being in Toastmasters for just under a year now, having officially joined last May ( 2011. ) I gave my first speech in June just before the summer break. I then gave my second speech the first meeting back in August and since then, have being doing one speech a month at least since then as a goal I set for myself was to complete the Competent Communicator ( CC ) manual by the end of the current season. I will be doing stage 8 out of 10 this week. I guess I started a momentum and just didn’t stop.

As for my experience so far. It’s being of great benefit to me. Even between speeches, I have made a lot of progress – from bumbling and apologizing to being able to quite confidently speak in front of an audience and I’m not even done the CC manual yet. I have also met some great people, all of whom are there to help me and guide me along the way, a favour I hope I am returning to people who have joined the club since I did.

I’ve also noticed it having some knock on effects in other areas of my life. I feel like I want to be more honest, more expressive about things. Before, I was more reserved. Now, not so much. I also feel I that I’ve have some talent for theatrics that I haven’t tapped because frankly, they were ignored because I simply never got the chance to really shine with them. Maybe acting is something I should look into?

So, should you join Toastmasters? Well, if you are looking for something that will help boost you’re confidence and open you’re mind, then it is definitely something you should look into. I don’t regret joining so what is stopping you? Just look for Toastmasters meetings in your area and just go ( I went to first meeting literally within an hour of looking the details about my local club online. ) You won’t regret it, promise. 🙂

Posted on April 10, 2012, in Toastmasters. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

