The Year of No Drinking – First Report

Well, we are now in March and it has being just over 2 months since my last drink on New Years Eve. I’d thought I’d give a report on my progress and on what has changed.

I a still going strong, I’m glad to report, though there were a few times where I was tempted but I keep this place in mind, I simply do not want to report that I’ve let people down which is stengthening my resolve in this regard.

It isn’t easy though. For one thing, getting plastered is the default thing many people do at weekends ( be it at home or at the bar ) and aside from that, there are not really many socail oppurtunities. I did go out once since, not drinking of course and it was a crap night. I’ve enjoyed myself sober in the past but I’m now noticing that even the smell of certain alcoholic drinks is digusting me.

Them, connected to my goal of going to Oz later this year, I’ve become a bit of a hermit. In other words, I haven’t being out in a socail setting much. It kind of sucks but the payoff will be worth it in the end ( I hope! ) For now, I’m just keeping myself occuppied with online gaming and the fighting game community ( on that, a word of warning, Street Fighter X Tekken is coming out this week, this will probably effect my posts here for a while! )

Good thing there are still tournaments being run but I feel so much could be done than what currently is being done. I wish for something more progressive, maybe I should take it as a means to innovate more.

Regardless, I’m still saving a lot of money and am slowly working towards my goals. It’s slow but I am getting there and I’m pretty certain I’ll be able to entertain no drinking for the rest of the year as well.

Posted on March 6, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

