The Goals & Challenges of Infinity

Challenge Accepted

Hey people, how are you all keeping!? Well, after getting called out by Niall last week, I said that I would make a follow-up post to my impromptu one from last week and well, here I am!

As I said, I was going to be listing a few of my goals. This goals will be for the next year from today ( Tuesday, November 22nd, 2011 ) I will start with the one I posted about last week and work from there.

Goal 1: Win at least 1 Fighting Game tournament by the end of May 2012

This one is I mentioned last week. I need to work on my fighting game skills to bring them up to a level that is acceptable, possibly change characters in the process in order to do so ( sorry Juri ) but alas, I’m hungry and want to achieve this whatever it takes!

Goal 2: Find a source of income

I won’t lie, my current source of income is social welfare! Before all of you breath down my neck going ‘ get a job you lazy fuck! ‘ don’t, I’ve heard dozens of times before it this stage and I’m only on it about 6 months! Anyway, I’m no waster and have being saving most of it every week with intentions to travel.

BUT…. I want to see if I want to find a source of income that is better than that. Even if it means in the short-term working some god-awful job with antisocial hours then so be it. That said, I’ll also see if I find other ways to make some money before resorting to that.

Goal 3: Finish the Toastmasters Competent Communicator Manual

I have being a member of Toastmasters since June of this year. For those who are wondering, Toastmasters is an international group where people come together and give speeches with the aim of improving themselves and all that jazz.

I am currently working my way though the initial Competent Communicator Manual at a good pace and hope to have all 10 projects done within it by the end of the 2011 / 2012 season.

Goal 4: Become more frugal

Closely tied in with my source of income goal, this one simply involves me learning to make do with less money. I fully believe it will be possible for me to live on 30 Euro or less a week while I save. This will involve some sacrifices but it will be worth it in the end.

I plan on having one last blow out for the month of December this year ( with presents, some clothes and going out ) but come January, I will be in full-time frugal mode.

Goal 5: Get rid of Possessions

I am not talking minimalism here: I simply wish to downsize to a manageable amount of possessions. This will involve clearing out my wardrobe, throwing out and / selling / or giving away stuff I don’t use any more to create less clutter in my life.

Goal 6 – The Big One: Go to Australia aka Operation Getaway

This is the big one. The grand finale. All of the other items on the list lead up to this one. The core goal that merits me taking inspiration from Man Vs Clock and setting a public timer on it. All of the goals above lead into this one. This is something I have wanted to do for a long time ( talking like at least 5 years here ) and now I am determined to finally do it. This also explains the timer I added to the blog recently.

The aim – Be either in Australia or on my way there by November 22nd, 2012 at the very latest. Swap the shitty Irish weather for sunshine, beaches and all that jazz. It’s not gonna be cheap but should everything go to plan, it will all be worth it in the end!

And so there you have it, 6 goals. One year. I believe they are all perfectly achievable. This is only the start. Again, inspired by Man Vs Clock, I will be setting myself comfort zone challenges with set time limits. I already have one in mind but I won’t be posting that one until early in the new year.

Until then, lets bring it on!

Posted on November 22, 2011, in Control, Fear, Goals, Life, Me, Travel. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Yay, yay, yay, YAAAAAAAAAAAY! You’re doing time limit challenges because of me πŸ˜€ I’m digging this πŸ™‚

    Good on you Adrian, nothing like public accountability and a direct affirmation to get things moving! It keeps your eyes on the prize, it’s also pretty scary! Thanks for making my day, mate πŸ™‚

    • No problem, Anthony. I had being following your blog for quite a while and like the way you had a timer on the top of the page for the main challenge ( your Operation Getaway ) as well as any other challenge you put up so I thought I’d copy it.

      Truth be told, I had started the timer using a countdown program for display on my laptop twice in the past few months but stopped it twice. 3rd time, I knew needed more accountability so here I am. πŸ˜‰

      Hope your enjoying Malaysia and living the dream that comes with it. Have you seen any monkeys yet?

      • Haha you’ll be fine with a year mate, just make sure you don’t reset it again πŸ™‚ I have indeed got a video of ninja-flying monkeys! Like Niall says, let me know if I can do anything to help!

  2. Brilliant stuff, Adrian. Wishing you all the best with your goals. Let me know if I can help in any way.

Leave a Reply

