Embracing Your Inner Child

I would like to describe myself as a childish person. I don’t mean I’m immature or anything like that. What I mean is that I like to keep in touch with my inner child. I personally believe that if you nuture you rinner child, it will benefit you in the long run.

So many people stuff their inner child. Still some understandably never had a chance to let theirs out due to circumstances. Worse still is when others with good intentions to try to kill someone else’s inner child because they think that you can live life seeing things with simple joy that child would is wrong and that you need to see the world coldly and cynically.

Truth is, you can still be realistic and still maintain your inner child at the same time, they aren’t mutually exclusive, you know. Granted, there are times you need to operate in serious mode ( when I’m in serious mode, I am ruthlessly professional, for example ) but then are times you can let out the joy, fun and innocence associated with childhood.

I’m also not advocating perceptual childhood here either, we all need to ‘ grow up ‘ BUT there no need to grow old, if you get my drift. Some of us face very real responsibilities, then please attend to those, they are important and you need to be serious mode at those times.

What ways can you keep in touch with your inner child, you may ask? No, I’m no expert on this but I reckon there are a few things you can to do to nourish your inner child;

  1. Always be curious. Always be curious. Be curious to learn more, to try new things, to do stupid things, to do good things. Go on that adventure, get dirty, get bruised. Fall, then get up again. Experiment. Never lose your curiousty, its a sentence to mediocracy otherwise.
  2. Laugh. Its a simple one but its so effective. I’m known as a funny guy, a bit of a smart ass if you may be hey, I make people laugh and I am able to laugh at my own stupidity as well. Make people laugh, its contagious and will make you feel young again and bring people towards you
  3. Know thats its OK to do ‘ Childish ‘ things. This was a hard one for me as I’ve had to deal with family members not approving of this and trying to crush it. On the flip side, I would be who I am today if it wasn’t for that. That said, I know its OK to do childish things, read children’s books and comics, play video games aimed at kids if that floats your boat. Don’t feel ashamed of it, embrace it. Ignore the naysayers, they probably don’t know what they are doing!


Thats just a few ideas to maintain your inner child, leave a comment if you know of more ideas that might be helpful for me and others. Express yourself fully, I won’t judge.

Embrace the child with, that is what I say!


Posted on September 13, 2011, in Control, Fear, Life, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love this, Adrian. You don’t stop having fun when you grow old. You grow old when you stop having fun 🙂

    Another idea for embracing your inner child: Instead of asking, “How can I accomplish this?”, ask yourself instead: “How can I accomplish this and have fun in the process?” The potential for fun and enjoyment is infinite and everywhere if you just have the right mindset.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

