Challenge #1: Giving Up the Drink for 2012

The New Year, What will 2012 bring? And yes, there is a Mayan reference.

 

Firstly, Happy New Year everyone! Hope you had a good night wherever you were and whoever you were doing! ;)

Anyway, straight down to Business, I have an announcement to make. I am making good of my promise to start issuing myself challenges, well this one is more of an experiment – A pretty big one at that you can say. Its one that has being in the back of my mind for quite some time but it was something I knew I’d want to do eventually.

So, as of today, January 1st, 2012 – I am giving up the drink for one year. New Years Eve was the last blow out for me before this started, which explains why I am typing this out a few days beforehand and scheduled it!

Why?

Well, I have my reasons but rest assurred, I am NOT going to become of those oh so mighty teetotallers who tells everyone who drinks off ( I was like that when I was younger, it didn’t work too well socailly for me! Ha! ) The reaons I have for doing this are:

1. Cost

I have an awful habbit of spending way too much on booze when I am out. Tha money can easily be put to better use elsewhere, like saving for my trip to Australia. Seriously, there was one night where I spent over 100 Euro out. I am like ‘ Woah! To hell with that. ‘

2. Health

Another obvious one, I want to look after myself now more than ever. I am NOT invincable and I want to prolong my life as much as possible so that I can see as much as I can. That and hangovers generally suck ass and cause a write off of the next day!

3. I am using it as a crutch.

I, like many others, am a bit shy and inward. The drink helps bring me out of my shell quite a bit. HOWEVER, I realise that this is a trap and its really just a cop out for both me and anyone else that connects with drunk Adrian. My goal is to be able to do what I can do drunk…. except I will completely sober, if you get my drift.

Granted, I know the first few times going out sober will suck but I already know from exerpince as I often went out completely dry when I was 19 and 20. Those sucked but maybe it was because I never put myself out there enough.

4. I knew it was never meant to be a permentment fixture.

I didn’t start drinking until I was 21 and even then, I knew it wasn’t meant to be a permenment thing. I knew it was temporary, something to keep me sane during the college years. Now that I’m at the other side of this, I don’t wish to partake in these activities anymore, the peroid is over, I don’t NEED drink anymore, I can cope perfectly well on my own.

There are other reasons that are a bit too personal for me to blabbing out here right now so I’ll just at this. I am looking forward to doing this and hope that the whole experiment will work for the best for me!

Heres to the New Year Everyone!

Posted on January 1, 2012, in Goals, Life, Me, Sober 2012. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wishing you all the best with this, Adrian. As you know, I gave it up for 2011, and it proved to be one of the best decisions I ever made. No going back for the foreseeable future :-)

  1. Pingback: 100 People Doing Extraordinary Things (2012 Edition)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

